High School
Updated Grading Policy
Click the link to see a copy of the Updated Grading Policy that CCS set in place on April 21.
Academic Brief
Independence High School is a four-year high school with an enrollment of 950 students. It is located in a residential area in the southeast section of the City of Columbus. Independence High School uses the High Schools That Work as its model. This model provides the staff and students with 10 common practices by which to guide teaching and learning. The quality of the staff is the main reason that The Ohio State University has designated Independence as a Professional Development School (PDS), a site for the preparation of educators for the 21st Century. Currently, English, social studies, mathematics, and science students from the OSU Masters in Education programs are serving as interns at Independence. O.S.U. has also implemented a Student Support Center which houses Masters in School Counseling interns to serve as mentors and intervention specialists.
At Independence, academics are of top priority. Independence offers four advanced placement courses: literature and composition, government and calculus. Students can earn college credits as part of the Post-Secondary Educational Options Program at no cost for tuition and books. Independence has an extensive after-school program. Among the offerings are proficiency tutoring, credit recovery, ACT/SAT tutoring and class tutorials.
Scholarship Award List
Bradford School, The Ohio State University, Columbus State Community College, University of Rio Grande, University of Toledo, Wright State University, Ohio University, Capital University, Otterbein College, University of Dayton, Xavier University, Art Institute of Ohio, Ohio Dominican University, Tiffin University, University of Cincinnati, Union College, Wilmington College, Kent State University, Johnson C. Smith College, Nazarene University, Tusculum College, University of the Cumberlands, University of Akron, Philander College, Lane College, Clark Atlanta University, Tuskegee University, Bellarmine, and DeVry University
Principal - Mr. Ernest West III
(614) 365-5372  |   5175 E. Refugee Road Columbus, OH 43232
Quick-Edit Login